How to Stop People from Posting on your Facebook Wall

By Default, if you become friends with someone on Facebook, you can post anything on his/her timeline. In the same way, other people can also share things or post on your Facebook wall. The privacy settings for timeline posts is set to everyone i.e., any Facebook user that visited your profile can see what other people has posted on your wall.


But if you look at some Facebook profile like Mark Zuckerberg, you'll find that only his posts are visible there and you cannot post or share things on his timeline.

Facebook profile is like your personal property and that's why, only your posts should be there. It will look more clean and organized than, thus giving a professional look to your profile.

You might have hundreds of friends on Facebook and it's really annoying when someone post things on your timeline that you don't want to share with other people. Here's how to stop them from doing this.

How to Stop people from posting on your timeline

There are two methods that you can use. Either you can change your timeline privacy settings or block/unfriend the particular person from your account. Below I had explained both these methods.

Method 1. Change privacy settings:

Facebook has provided a privacy feature which let you stop all your friends from posting on your timeline. If you want to enable it, simply follow these steps -
  1. First, login to your Facebook account and click the drop-down arrow icon at the top-right corner of the page (same button from where you logout the account)
  2. From the drop-down menu, click Settings option.
  3. Now move to Timeline and Tagging tab.
  4. Under Who can add things to my timeline? section, click edit link next to Who can post on your timeline? option.
  5. Now, change the audience from Friends to Only me and that's it.
After this, if your friends will visit your profile, they will not find any box to share things on your timeline.

Method 2. Block or unfriend the person

If you want to block a particular person from posting annoying things on your timeline, the only way is to block or unfriend him or her. Here's how to unfriend them -
  1. Go to the person's profile and click Friends button.
  2. Now tap Unfriend option from the menu list and you are done. You can also block the person to stop all communications.
Apart from this, if the person is your close friend, you can tell him directly not to post anything on your timeline. Additional, you can post a new status so that other people will also be informed.

If you want to get more like and comments on your Facebook profile, I recommend using Friends or Friends of Friends privacy option but if you don't have anything to hide you can use Public.

You can also block particular person using custom settings.

How to Review Tagged Posts on Facebook

One of the most popular Facebook feature is tagging. Your friends can tag you in any photo and post things on your timeline.


Well it's a great feature but some people are misusing it just to get more likes on their posts. They may tag you in every single status and photos.

If you're tagged in a post, you'll receive all of its notifications when someone will like, share and comments on it.

It's really annoying to get those Unknown Notifications in your personal account.

Apart from this, tagged posts will also appear on your timeline and anyone (according to your privacy settings) can view them.

Well If you want to a give more professional look to your Facebook profile, you've to remove all those tagged posts from your timeline.

It is very hard to remove them one by one. But now you can enable timeline review feature to manually approve posts you're tagged in before they appear on your timeline.

How to enable Facebook timeline review feature

If you enable this feature, you'll get a notification in your activity log any time someone tagged you in a new post, asking whether you want to add it on your timeline or not.

If the post is really good or you're actually there in the picture, you can approve the request. On the other hand, if the tagged post is useless, you can hide it.
  • First, login to your Facebook account and click the drop-down arrow icon at the top-right corner of the screen (same button from where you logout the account. 
  • Now click "Settings" option from the menu list. 
  • Then move to the "Timeline and tagging" tab from the left sidebar menu.
  • Under "Who can add things to my timeline?" section, click the edit link next to "Review posts friends tag you in before they appear on your timeline" option.
  • Finally change the "Disabled" option to "Enabled" and that's it.

How to Approve or Hide Tagged Posts on Facebook

  • Whenever you want to review your tagged posts, simply go to your profile and click "Activity log" button in front of your cover photo. (see below picture)
  • From the left sidebar menu (or filters), select "Timeline review" option.
  • Here you'll find all the posts you're tagged in. You have to review and approve each single post manually. Simply click "Add to timeline" button for the post that you want to approve.
NOTE:if you hide any post, it may appear in other places on Facebook like in search, news feed or on your friends timeline. If you want to remove yourself from the post, simply open it in new browser tab and then click drop-down arrow icon as shown in below picture. From the drop-down menu, tap "remove tag" option and that's it.

How to Change the audience of tagged posts

By default, tagged posts on your timeline will be visible to everyone i.e. anyone visiting to your profile can see which posts you're tagged in. However, you can change its audience to friends, friends of friend, only me, custom and limit it to a particular Facebook lists.

If you want to change this, go to the Timeline and Tagging settings page. Under "Who can see things on my timeline?" section, click the edit link next to "Who can see posts you've been tagged in on your timeline?" option. Now change the audience.


As this is your personal profile, so I recommend using "Only me" or "Friends" audience. Your timeline should be clean and organized in order to look more professional. To review what other people see on your profile, click "View as" option on the same page.

In this way, you can easily manage and review all tagged posts on your Facebook timeline before they appear. So tell me what you think about this Feature.

Read Also

Post a Comment